Get Involved

Get involved through Apartment Association of New Mexico Committees.

CALENDAR OF EVENTS      Join Our Mailing List

Volunteer Opportunities

The best way to make the most of your membership is to become involved. If you are a first time volunteer, the Associate/Membership Council is a great training ground for future service in other committees.

If you are interested in joining a committee, please email our membership department.

See the calendar of upcoming committee meetings.

Action Committees

Education Committee

The Education Committee helps develop AANM's educational calendar programs, including topics and speakers for the lunch meetings, educational seminars and conferences as well as coordination of national certification programs. This committee also designs and produces the marketing and communications for AANM.

Meetings are held monthly on the second Wednesday from 9:00-10:00am.

2018 Committee Chair: Steve Ross

Government & Community Affairs (GAC)

The GAC is responsible for reviewing and developing legislation and community relations that affect the mulit-family housing industry within the State of New Mexico and at the local level. This committee consists of 9 primary members, appointed by the Board of Directors.

Meetings held monthly on the last Tuesday from 11:30am-1:00pm.

2017-18 Chair: Steven Phillips

2017-18 Vice Chair: Chuck Sheldon, CCIM, CPM®

Membership Committee

This committee is comprised of both Primary and Associate Members. The committee’s mission is to encourage more interaction and involvement among Members and help develop, plan and implement membership recruitment and mixers. The Membership Committee contacts new members and assists in involving them from the beginning of their memberhsip.

Meetings are held monthly on the last Tuesday from 4:00-5:00 pm, and the location will vary.

2018 Committee Chair: Sara Minnick-Lujan

Event Committees

Charity Gala Committee

This committee will plan the annual charity gala, scheduled for Friday, November 9, 2018. The committee sells attendance registrations, a la carte sponsorships, collects donations for raffle and silent auction, and coordinates the evening's events. Must be willing to assist the day of the event and during the evening at the event.

Meetings are initially held on a bi-weekly basis then scheduled weekly as the event date approaches. 

2018 Committee Chairs: Vanessa Albright 

Maintenance Mania®

This committee will plans the Annual Maintenance Mania® event. Committee members help develop, implement and sell attendance to the event. All committee members must be willing to help with set-up and tear-down and during the event, to ensure it runs efficiently.

Meetings are held on Tuesdays, 1:00-2:00 pm. The 2018 event is scheduled for September 26, 2018

2018 Committee Chair:

Golf Classic

This committee plans the annual Golf Classic scheduled for July 27, 2018. The committee sells a la carte sponsorships, players, and lunch attendance, and must be willing to assist at the event.

Meetings are initially held on a monthly basis then scheduled weekly as the event date approaches. This committee meets the third Thursday of every month at 9:00am.

2018 Committee Chairs: Stefanie Gutierrez-Montano

Apartment Conference and Trade Show

The Apartment Association of New Mexico and the Southwest Affordable Housing Group collaborate to present the annual Apartment Conference & Trade Show. This 3 day event is a result of two organizations that lead the industry in advocacy, education, and career development.

The Apartment Conference & Trade Show showcases our valuable vendors that provide services and products to the property management industry. Speakers from local and national acclaim are on hand to provide continuing education for all levels of positions. In addition, the banquet prove to be a fantastic networking event and a time to cut loose and have some fun!

The 2018 event is April 11-13, 2018, at the Hyatt Regency Albuquerque.

2018 Committee Chair: Bobby Griffith


2019 Committee Chairs: Mike King & John Hegarty

Volunteer Day

2019 Committee Chairs: Rochelle Feerer & Kim Rhoades